Faces of Loyola: Jamie Connors

Jameson (Jamie) ConnorsFullSizeRender-2

School: Fordham College Rose Hill, Undeclared

Hometown: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania

Why did Jamie choose Fordham?
“New York City is my favorite place in the world, and Fordham provided me with both access to the city as well as a college campus feel,” says Jamie. “It’s a really great combination of both.”

What does Jamie do at Fordham?
Jamie is very active in theatrical arts at Fordham. She is a member of Fordham Experimental Theatre (FET), Fordham’s Theatrical Outreach Program (TOP) and a “soon to be a member” of The Mimes and Mummers. This year she was in FET’s production, “My First Fanfiction,” an original show written by sophomore Elle Rose, and also in Mimes and Mummers’ production of “Rent.” She was recently cast as a witch in TOP’s production of “Macbeth.”

She is also a member of the Dorothy Day Center for Service and Justice, and will be a leader of Urban Plunge next year. “This club helps tackle issues of social justice pertaining to the world around us, specifically in the Fordham community as well as the Bronx community at large,” says Jamie.

What does the Manresa Program mean to Jamie?
Jamie appreciates the inclusive community that the Manresa Program embodies: “It is so important to me for people to feel comfortable and welcomed in their surroundings, and I strive to make that happiness I receive from the Manresa community ripple out into other aspects of my life,” says Jamie. “I am always guaranteed at least one smile when I walk into my residence hall.” Furthermore, Jamie values the academic character of the program. “Loyola is a really special environment that allows my voice to be heard while also allowing for stimulating and exciting dialogue,” says Jamie. “I’m so glad I get to be a part of it!”

Fun Fact?
Her dream is to work on Saturday Night Live and her intended degree is Communications with a concentration in Film. “Martin Scorsese and Wes Anderson changed my life!” says Jamie.

Kate Marinkovich, GSB 2018
Manresa Scholar

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

