Get to Know Next Year’s Staff: FCRH Tutor Ryan Gilligan

Hello Future Manresa Scholars,GilliganBlog

My name is Ryan Gilligan and I am a recent graduate of Fordham College at Rose Hill. This fall I will begin my Masters degree in English at Fordham, but equally as important, I will be serving as a tutor for all of you. As an English major, I developed my abilities in public speaking, proofreading, sentence structure, and most importantly, critical thinking. These very skills that I acquired will pass on to you during our individual meetings as well as our group programs. It is wonderful to witness a student being able to move from simple plot summary to in-depth literary scrutiny and critical self-reflection. I, too, am more aware of the improvements I need to make in my own writing as a result of working with each of you.

Freshman year is a time of immense change; sometimes that change leads to great excitement, and other times, great stress. It is my job to help acclimate you to the academic pressures of college. It was not so long ago that I remember visiting a tutor who helped me with a term paper that ended up turning my semester into a spectacular one instead of a mediocre one.

Our mission in the Manresa Scholars Program is to foster learners who are mature, curious, industrious, and above all, kind. I hope you view your time here as an opportunity to grow into men and women worthy of the Ignatian spirit, just as many before you have.

Ryan Gilligan, FCRH 2015, GSAS 2017
FCRH Live-in Student Tutor, 2015-2016

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

